about

Biography Katharina Roth

Katharina Roth, born in 1990, started composition in 2003 when she met Tilo Medek. In 2009 she began her studies at the University of Music in Lübeck with Dieter Mack and from 2011-2012 she studied composition with Daniel D’Adamo at the Conservatoire de Reims (France). She finished her Bachelor studies in composition with Dieter Mack in 2014 and her piano studies with Jacques Ammon, which she did at the same time, in 2015. Through internships in concert organization, as well as in music-therapy and -pedagogic, she enriched her studies. Masterclasses with Samuel Adler, Sandeep Bhagwati, Oscar Bianchi, Anton Safronov, Brian Ferneyhough, Johannes Schöllhorn and Rebecca Saunders were very important for her musical development.

In 2013 she obtained a 2nd prize at the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerb for her piece Kleine Erzählungen and in 2014 the Karlsruher composition prize for Hit him when he cry out for percussion solo.

Her main compositional emphasis is in the field of chamber music. She writes a very fragile, intimate, transparent music while trying to fathom out the instrumental borders for creating very fine and breakable sound-textures. Especially with percussion and voice she concerns herself intensively at the moment because they represent to her the most „natural instruments“.

During the last years she created works like Kleine Erzählungen (2012/14) for clarinet, violoncello, piano and percussion, Snake Charmer for bass-flute, bass-clarinet, percussion, violin and violoncello, solo pieces for percussion (Hit him when he cry out, 2013) and piano as well as works for women choir (caché, 2014), two voices (Der blinde Fleck, 2014) and for voice and ensemble (Noch ist Raum, 2013).

Katharina is increasingly concentrating on vocal music and studied northern Indian Dhrupad singing with Amelia Cuni, Gianpaolo Peres, the Gundecha Brothers and currently with Marianne Svašek. The encounter with this form of music has caused an influence on Katharinas thinking about musical form, improvisation and human voices. At the moment she concentrates on works for voice.

She worked with the ensembles L’Instant Donné, Analogue Translation, IEMA, hand werk and Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart. Her works have been performed in Voix nouvelles Royaumont, at Blurred Edges Festival Hamburg, at the Tagen für Neue Musik Krefeld, at Chiffren-Festival in Kiel and in Festival Neuköllner Urtöne in Berlin.

Currently Katharina is living in Linz, where she continues her compositions studies with Carola Bauckholt. Besides she follows further studies in music therapy.


Here you find a short biography for program notes.

Über mich

Biographie Katharina Roth

Katharina Roth, 1990 geboren, begann durch die Begegnung mit Tilo Medek im Jahr 2003 zu komponieren und nahm bei ihm Kompositionsunterricht. 2009 schloss sie ihre kirchenmusikalische C-Ausbildung erfolgreich ab und begann ihr Kompositionsstudium an der Musikhochschule Lübeck bei Dieter Mack. Nachdem sie 2011/2012 in der Klasse von Daniel D’Adamo in Reims studierte, nahm sie im Herbst desselben Jahres ein Zweitstudium in der Klavierklasse von Jacques Ammon auf. Ihr Kompositionsstudium schloss sie 2014, ihr Klavierstudium 2015 erfolgreich ab. Durch Praktika sowohl in Konzertorganisation, als auch im musiktherapeutischen und -pädagogischen Bereich, bereicherte sie Ihre Ausbildung. Des weiteren besuchte sie prägende Meisterkurse bei Samuel Adler, Sandeep Bhagwati, Oscar Bianchi, Anton Safronov, Rebecca Saunders und Johannes Schöllhorn.

Ihr momentaner kompositorischer Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Kammermusik, da sie eine äußerst fragile, durch-hörbare, intime Musik schreibt. Sie lotet gerne die Grenzen der Instrumente/Stimmen aus, um in diesen Bereichen zu sehr feinen, zerbrechlichen Klangtexturen zu gelangen. Besonders mit Schlagzeug und Stimme befasst sie sich momentan sehr intensiv, aus der Überzeugung heraus, dass dies die beiden „ursprünglichsten Instrumente“ seien.

In den letzten Jahren entstanden so u.a. Werke wie Kleine Erzählungen für Klarinette, Violoncello, Klavier und Schlagzeug, Snake Charmer für Bassflöte, Bassklarinette, Schlagzeug, Violine und Violoncello, Solostücke für Schlagzeug (Hit him when he cry out) und Klavier, aber auch Werke für Frauenchor (caché), zwei Stimmen (Der blinde Fleck), sowie Werke für Stimme und Ensemble (Noch ist Raum).

Sie arbeitete mit den Ensembles L’Instant Donné, Analogue Translation, IEMA, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart und hand werk. Ihre Werke wurden im Rahmen von Voix nouvelles in Royaumont, im Rahmen des Blurred Edges Festivals Hamburg, bei den Tagen für Neue Musik Krefeld, beim Chiffren-Festival in Kiel und dem Festival Neuköllner Urtöne in Berlin aufgeführt.

Seit etwa zwei Jahren beschäftigt sich Katharina verstärkt mit der nordindischen Vokalmusik, insbesondere dem Dhrupad-Gesang. Sie studierte diese Gesangsart zunächst mit Amelia Cuni, Gianpaolo Peres und den Gundecha Brüdern und nimmt derzeit Unterricht bei Marianne Svašek. Die intensive Beschäftigung mit dieser Musikform hat Einfluss auf Katharinas Denken über musikalische Form und Improvisation, sowie ihre Arbeit mit der Stimme.

Derzeit lebt sie in Linz, studiert Komposition MA bei Carola Bauckholt sowie Musiktherapie an der mdw Wien.


Eine Kurzbiographie für Programmhefte finden Sie hier.